Congratulations to the Bellwether Class of 2012:

John H. Clarke
John H. Clarke

John H. Clarke was instrumental in helping the U.S. Department of Defense and Veterans Administration convert to a global supply chain system similar to the framework used by the private sector, including serving as the chief proponent and architect of integrating the government’s variety of clinical and operational databases and promoting data standardization.

Paul V. Farrell, C.P.M., 1915-1997
Paul V. Farrell, C.P.M., (1915-1997)

Paul V. Farrell, C.P.M., 1915-1997, is considered one of the foremost purchasing experts in the nation since the 1940s. He dedicated nearly five decades of editorial and management service to purchasing activities, including writing and editing news articles and prominent educational textbooks, as well as teaching, consulting and participating in various professional development programs, to promote purchasing excellence and performance.

Max Goodloe Sr., 1921-1997
Max Goodloe Sr., (1921-1997)

Max Goodloe Sr., 1921-1997, founded General Medical Corp., the second-largest distributor of healthcare products at the time (behind American Hospital Supply Corp.), but the largest supplier directly targeting physicians. Goodloe pioneered the concept of a national distribution company with a local sales and warehousing presence so customers anywhere in the nation could rely on either same-day emergency or next-day delivery service.

Roberta Graham, R.N.
Roberta Graham, R.N.

Roberta Graham, R.N., retires at year’s end as executive vice president of UHC after nearly two decades of service there. During Graham’s nursing and supply chain career, which spans more than 40 years, she was instrumental in launching and developing extensive benchmarking, operational improvement and value analysis programs as well as linking clinical and operational data and human resources.

George O. Hansen
George O. Hansen

As the lead systems design consultant for American Sterilizer Co. (AMSCO), George O. Hansen introduced and incorporated the principles of throughput and workflow analysis – planning the size, layout and equipment for processing services based on volume and cycle-time requirements – into centralized supply processing and distribution departments in hospitals around the globe.

James L. Hersma
James L. Hersma

Among his varied healthcare supply chain career, James L. Hersma served as the founding president of Novation, merging the disparate supply management operations of VHA and UHC, and led CIS Technologies to a financial and operational turnaround and eventual sale. But many know him as a supply chain mentor and motivator, producing and presenting training materials for C-suite and supply chain executives, physicians and clinicians on a national, regional and local level. Hersma also was a key advocate for using technology in supply chain operations, helping to create one of the earliest automatic order entry systems for providers and suppliers.

Thomas W. Hughes
Thomas W. Hughes (1945-2001)

Thomas W. Hughes may have launched his stellar career in hospital supply chain operations but he cemented his industry stature and status after founding his prominent and market-leading supply chain management consultancy that helped thousands of healthcare facilities improve clinical, financial and operational performance. Hughes also helped form, develop and lead the Strategic Marketplace Initiative (SMI), which brings providers and suppliers together to develop actionable solutions to healthcare supply chain issues.

Carl L. Manley
Carl L. Manley

Carl L. Manley has spent more than three decades in supply chain operations where he was one of the earliest developers and implementers of integrated delivery network supply chain strategies and regional purchasing collaboratives, IDN-directed consolidated service centers, performance improvement initiatives and physician/primary care integration with supply chain activities. He also was instrumental in the founding of SMI and its predecessor organization that brought together IDNs to cover supply chain strategic initiatives.

Raymond Seigfried
Raymond Seigfried

Raymond Seigfried serves as a prominent and stalwart advocate for integrated system thinking and management engineering in supply chain operations. He created interdepartmental and inter-specialty groups of clinicians and administrators to improve quality performance, product and technology acceptance and acquisition, as well as supply chain oversight of system-wide clinical purchasing activities.

Robert A. Simpson
Robert A. Simpson

Since the late 1970s, Robert A. Simpson has excelled in just about every facet of the healthcare supply chain industry, from provider to government agency to group purchasing organization to supplier to association leadership to clinical charity activities, and has developed university curricula on healthcare operations. He currently applies his vast experience and skills to leading a growing IDN, a regional collective of healthcare systems in Florida and a successful consolidated service center that works with organizations inside and outside of healthcare as well as a collegiate internship program to mentor healthcare industry-bound students.

2020 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2020 Future Famers Class of 2020 - Left to right:

Hunter Chandler, Director, Supply Chain Information Systems, Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC

Jack Koczela, Director of Services, Supply Chain, Froedtert Health Integrated Service Center, Menomonee Falls, WI

Kenneth Scher, CMRP, Vice President, End-to-End Supply Chain, Nexera Inc., New York

2019 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2019 Future Famers Class of 2019 - Left to right: Geisinger Health’s Jun B. Amora, Memorial Health System’s Erin M. Bromley, Avera Health’s Sara M. Henderson, Mid-America Service Solutions’ Jessica Rinderle and Dartmout-Hitchcock Health’s Sidney L. Hamilton. Not pictured: The University of Kansas Health System’s Brian A. Dolan.

2018 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2018 Future Famers Class of 2018 - Standing (left to right): Troy Compardo, Amy Chieppa and Andy Leaders. Not pictured: Ryan Rotar.

2017 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2017 Future Famers Class of 2017 - Standing (left to right): Mark Growcott, Ph.D., Karen Kresnik, R.N., and Ben Cahoy. Not pictured: Derek Havens and Christy Crestin.

2016 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2016 Future Famers Class of 2016 - Standing (left to right): Erik Walerius, Nisha Lulla and Rob Proctor. Not pictured: Jimmy Henderson, Kate Polczynski and Baljeet Sangha.

2015 Future Famers Honored

Future Famers 2015 Future Famers Class of 2015 - Standing (left to right): University of Chicago’s Eric Tritch, Ochsner Health’s Will Barrette, Providence Health’s Justin Freed, Mercy Health/St. Rita’s Jason Hays, Parkview Health’s Donna Van Vlerah and Texas Health’s Nate Mickish (back and to the right).

2020 Dean S. Ammer Award for Healthcare Supply Chain Performance Excellence

Ammer Award 2020 Randy V. Bradley, Ph.D., CPHIMS, FHIMSS, Associate Professor of Supply Chain Management and Information Systems, University of Tennessee Knoxville, Haslam College of Business, Department of Supply Chain Management
Randy V. Bradley Profile

2017 Ammer Award Honoree Organization

Ammer Award 2017 Mayo Clinic’s Jim Francis accepts the 2017 Dean S. Ammer Award for Supply Chain Excellence, on behalf of his Ammer Level 5 Supply Chain Organization.

2016 Inaugural Ammer Award

Ammer Award 2016 Michael Louviere accepts the inaugural Dean S. Ammer Award for Supply Chain Excellence on behalf of his Supply Chain team at Ochsner Health System.